July DSMA Blog Carnival


Blood glucose.  It’s front and center when it comes to diabetes.  It is how we get diagnosed and it is what we are trying to manage.  An important tool we use to manage our blood glucose is our meter and its strips.  But what happens if our meters aren’t giving reliable information?  Let’s explore that this month as we discuss a topic from the June 26th chat Fill in the Blank.  Weigh in on the following statement:

Test strip accuracy is important to me because______.

…because if they are not accurate then we are screwed!

Testing my blood sugars gives me a window into my health. It gives me an empirical/numerical value in which I can judge, and over time the blood sugar values can ultimately tell me how healthy I have been. Now certainly a high blood sugar every once in a while is nothing to stress about but it is still something I take note of and try to figure out what I did to make it high so I can log it into my mental diabetes database. I essentially like to keep track of a rough A1C day to day (CGM is wonderful for this). So of course having accurate testing devices is super important for me to have an accurate picture of my health.

One of the main things that frightens me is the knowledge that at some point in my life I could go blind or lose some fingers/toes or, hell, even lose a limb all because of diabetes. This really scares me. And because of this fear I try to always have complete control of my blood sugars. Its actually weird that high blood sugars upset me more then low blood sugars which are immediately dangerous. So having accurate test strips and glucose meters are crucial for me to know that I won’t have serious health complications due to diabetes or can at least prolong the diabetic health complications until I am way old and have health problems any way.

Since my diagnosis I have been using diabetes as a tool to live a more healthy life. Its my way of “looking on the bright side” of having diabetes. Pre-diagmonsis: I was very unhealthy. Never working out, eating too much crap, smoking cigarettes, and drinking too much too often; pretty much just being a stereotypical college guy. Post-diagnosis: I work out every other day, I heavily limit my sugar/carb intake, I don’t smoke, I rarely drink (and even more rarely over indulge); basically a complete 360 from where I was. And because I believe that my blood sugar testing equipment is accurate (or as accurate as possible) I know that the effort into being more healthy and controlling my blood sugars is not in vain.

So a simple answer to the original question: Test strip accuracy is important to me because I want to stay healthy.

“This post is my July entry in the DSMA Blog Carnival.  If you’d like to participate too, you can get all of the information at http://diabetessocmed.com/2013/july-dsma-blog-carnival-3/

Leave a Reply

