Diabetes Therapy Weekend


Happy Memorial Day weekend every one! I hope each and every one of you has a relaxing/productive/stress free/what ever kind of weekend. Any one have any special plans this weekend?

This weekend I have embarked on what I am calling a Diabetes Therapy Session. However the name might be a tad misleading because a Diabetes Therapy Session (DTS) is really just me chilling at a lake house with my dog and family and going out on the boat. That being said, there is some therapy involved here. Living with diabetes can be very stressful and overwhelming, and everyone needs to have some time to do something/anything to take their minds off of blood sugars/diabetes/whatever every now and then. Whether it is going out of town/vacation, going to a the movies, or simply diving into a good book, every one needs a getaway now and again. Mine is just taking that form of a lake house and boat.

Even though this was supposed to be a diabetes free weekend (or as free as one can be with diabetes), I still encountered a rough patch. We ate dinner at a 50s style diner in town and I essentially carb-o-loaded like I was running a marathon. I had a pulled pork sandwich (bun and all), onion rings and some tator tots. Yum! So of course I got paranoid that my blood sugar levels were going to reach new heights so I took some insulin. And then I took a bit more. And the next thing I know, I go from 160 to 48 in the span of an hour: sweats, shakes, light headed, extreme hunger. Not pleasant at all

But all in all it was a good learning experience. And I have been having a blast on the boat and playing cards with my parents and other things associated with lake houses.

Remember: find a getaway!

20130524-221113.jpg

20130524-221210.jpg

20130524-221218.jpg

9 thoughts on “Diabetes Therapy Weekend

  1. AWE! Beans looked like he was glad to be out with you and the boat!

    Alas, some of us have to work this weekend! Have fun!

  2. That sounds like a great weekend, minus the low off numbers. I think we’re going to have a little BBQ/get together. I agree with you though. Some times you do need a little getaway, no matter how you do it, it’s beneficial in a lot of ways. 🙂

  3. Have a great weekend and enjoy your time on the water! Hope you have a stress-free D weekend!

  4. OMG. I have so experienced that 100-0 drop and hate that feeling so much. My drop usually comes anywhere from midnight to 3:00 and you wake up to that “feeling”. I’m glad to say I’ve been really good about a little something before I go to sleep to last me through the night. I just need to figure out how little I can do to offset the drop but not raise the morning count. The life of a T2D.

  5. Sounds like an awesome time (minus the low)!

Leave a Reply

