Diabetes Blog Week- Day 5


Just like in the movie, today we’re doing a swap. If you could switch chronic diseases, which one would you choose to deal with instead of diabetes? And while we’re considering other chronic conditions, do you think your participation in the DOC has affected how you treat friends and acquaintances with other medical conditions?

I had to think about this prompt all day. Naturally the first answer that comes to my head is no diseases? I wish I had no chronic diseases. But that is also not the point of this topic. And also another easy answer would be: since I have type 1, I would want to swap with someone who had type 2 because I would already know how to manage it. But again, not the point of the prompt.

But more to the point, I don’t know if you would call this a disease, more of a disorder, but I would want to see what it is like to be Autistic. It would be very interesting to be able to see what goes on inside Autistic peoples brains, and be able to see/understand how they view/perceive the world. They are very unique individuals and are some of the least understood as well. As for an actual disease, I do not really know what I would swap with. In terms of manageable diseases, Diabetes is certainly up there as one of the most manageable. We can still live long, healthy, normal lives which cannot be said about people with some chronic diseases. I would never call someone with Diabetes lucky for having it, but it could be a worse disease. So we are lucky in a way.

As for the second part of the prompt about viewing other with diseases, I am not too sure if I know anyone with a chronic disease. I am not sure if I know another diabetic other then people I have met online. But I am sure, due to my interaction with the DOC, I will be much more understanding when/if I meet people with other diseases.

2 thoughts on “Diabetes Blog Week- Day 5

  1. I worked substituted a class with Autistic children. I know they like order. Everyday, my desk was spotless. Thanks to the students. It takes patience working with them. I found the three-week position rewarding.

Leave a Reply

