Diabetes Blog Week 2013- Day 2


Today’s topic is:

Recently various petitions have been circulating the Diabetes Online Community, so today let’s pretend to write our own. Tell us who you would write the petition to – a person, an organization, even an object (animate or inanimate) – get creative!! What are you trying to change and what have you experienced that makes you want this change?

When I first read this prompt, nothing really jumped into to my head to write about. I am new to the Diabetes Online Community and am completely in the dark about what these circulating petitions are all about. So I spent most of the day trying to think of something to write about. After reading a lot of really good responses from some of the other bloggers I follow, I think I have figured out a good petition to write. Maybe a blogger has written one similar to this, but I don’t know nor do I care because this one is near and dear to me and my situation.

We the undersigned, would like to formally address all the Viruses of the world. We believe that it is a right, as citizens of Earth, to be able to live a Diabetes free life and would kindly ask of you to no longer trigger autoimmune responses cause our immune systems to target our pancreases. It is too late for people like me, you have already done your damage. But it is not too late for younger generations and future generations. Spare them your wrath and allow them to have healthy pancreases so they can remain ignorant of the struggles associated with diabetes. So hear me viruses, leave our bodies alone!

7 thoughts on “Diabetes Blog Week 2013- Day 2

  1. Very creative petition. I like it! I’m not new to the community but I don’t know about the petitions either. Apparently I don’t get out much.

  2. i think you are very brave to start writing so soon. Maybe diabetes can be your muse one day in your creative writing efforts. i was definitely mine. being 21 is a hard age to be diagnosed. that damn virus. i sign you petition and thank you for sharing.

  3. i think you are very brave to start writing so soon. Maybe diabetes can be your muse one day in your creative writing efforts. it was definitely mine. being 21 is a hard age to be diagnosed. that damn virus. i sign you petition and thank you for sharing.

    • Diabetes and my diagnosis is already becoming a muse. It has given me a reason to start blogging. It will always be a memory and a feeling i can draw upon for writing.

  4. There are several friends that I love dearly that have “diabesity”. Because of the highly addictive nature of sugar it has hijacked their lives. Their endocrinologists do not focus on holistic nutrition so they get caught in the insulin resistance and dependence trap. My heart goes out to them. Their addiction and sugar dysregulation is very serious. The psychological–MIND-BODY connection cannot be underestimated. Psychological first aid is imperative! The autoimmune nature of IDDM or NIDDM is insidious and can many times be pre-empted even if someone does not believe it can. What would it be called if someone’s blood sugar analysis improved significantly? Just saying. Blessings, Dr. Paul Bowman, Jr.

  5. Yep! I’ll sign that petition! 🙂

Leave a Reply

