Diabetes Blog Week 2013 – Day 1


I am very excited to be participating in my very first Diabetes Blog Week. From what I understand this is the fourth Diabetes Blog Week and is an annual event where bloggers write on a different topic every day for a whole week. This should be a good test of my writing capabilities as well as an opportunity to share my stories/ experiences with others. Also being new to the blogging world and type one diabetes in general, I hope to meet some people and learn from their writings, experiences, and lives with Diabetes.

Today’s topic to write on is called “Share and Don’t Share” and is about how we do not see our health care providers for very long or very often, and because of this they might not understand what we go through every day as diabetics. So we need to pretend that our health care provider is reading our blogs and give them some insight into our lives with diabetes: what do you wish they knew or wish they didn’t know about your life.

So here we go!

My dad is an Engineer. If you don’t know an engineer you are lucky. He is a very kind and great person but, being an engineer he is obsessed (some people might use the word anal) about numbers, and facts, and routines, and information, and data, and getting everything right. So being the engineer that he is, the moment I was released from the hospital he has had me counting carbs, recording insulin doses, and writing it all down into charts he printed, which he transposes into spreadsheets on the computer. And before you ask, yes this DOES drive me nuts, but I comply. And yes he DOES check my Dexcom trend graph more then I do. All that being said, I love my dad dearly and will probably end up thanking him when I am older and still healthy. And all this obsession is just his physical display of worry for my diabetes and my over all health, which I understand and am grateful for.

So I guess what I wish my doctor knew and at the same time didn’t know  was how obsessed my dad is with my diabetes data. I wish he knew what my life is like so he could empathize with me but still understand when my next A1c is going to be lower then most non-diabetics (probably not but its still going to be low). My doctor knows how my father is because he is the family doctor, but he has no idea the extent of my dads worry/anal retentiveness. On the other hand, I wish my doctor did not know this about my father and my life as a diabetic because he would certainly not approve because he knows I am young and should not be restricting my diet as much as I am. This also happened to be his advice when I was discharged from the hospital. He essentially said ‘be conscious of what you eat and take your insulin but don’t be overly aggressive’ which obviously annoyed my dad.

But all in all I am glad to have such an involved dad, even if it is just a little too involved. I am also glad to have a good relationship with my doctor, so maybe he can talk some sense into my dad. Just kidding….well kind of.

4 thoughts on “Diabetes Blog Week 2013 – Day 1

  1. Let your doctor knew. He r she will be surprised. Doctors respect patients that are educated and in charge.

  2. Welcome Paul to D-Blog week! It’s a great way to learn a lot of information. I’d absolutely let my doctor know. Diabetes doesn’t have to be so anal retentive! It should be more natural. I don’t restrict my life for diabetes, but have learned how to handle most of it. Yes it does get the best of me once in a while, but I don’t let it own me. We all have to have our wings to fly!

  3. It sounds like the data is his coping mechanism, much like trying to contain it all into binders was mine. I thought if I could organize it, I could control it. Took me awhile to be able to be able to let go of the fact that for the first time in my life I was facing something that I could not be proactive about, I hate being reactive.

    Limiting of carb intake…remember, it’s not about deprivation, it is about everything in moderation. Deprivation can lead quickly to burn out. If you haven’t talked to a dietician yet, find out what your recommended daily carb intake should be. Our brain needs carbs to function. 🙂

Leave a Reply

