My Highs and Lows


So I have been out of the hospital and stable for a week now and I thought it would be interesting to post my high and low blood sugar levels.

After a deep slumber in my own bed the night I was released from the hospital I woke up to a whopping 429 blood sugar level. Yikes! The funny thing is that I felt completely fine. Probably because my body was still used to operating at high blood sugar levels. But since then I have been getting fairly normal readings in the mid 100’s.

And luckily the lowest I have been since I was released was 91.  I say luckily because my doctor says that it is not good for me to to get too low to quickly because my body has been operating at high levels for so long.  A “low” for me at this time will probably be much higher (maybe even in a normal range) than a low for some one who has had diabetes for a longer time then I.  For instance, my doctor said a “low” is any blood sugar level below 70, whereas I might show symptoms of a “low” in the mid to low 80’s.

Hopefully in the next few weeks I can begin to start narrowing in on my target goals. But for now I am just trying not to go LOW!

2 thoughts on “My Highs and Lows

  1. The highs and the lows stink. I’ve gotten down to about 35 before. It’s an awful feeling. When I was first diagnosed my sugar levels ran very high as well. It’s why I call diabetes a roller coaster, minus the fun part, there are a lot of ups and downs. I wish you luck. 🙂

Leave a Reply

