My Journey


There is an old saying that goes “When life hands you lemons, you make lemonade.” Unfortunately the lemonade will raise my blood sugar levels too high for me to have any.

And now to make things feel like an AA meeting:

Hi, my name is Paul and I am a diabetic. [this is where you mumble hello] And have been, officially, for a whole week now.

I say officially because last Monday, the 22 of April, I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes.  Unofficially, there is a very good chance I had diabetes for several weeks prior to the doctors visit. As if getting a life changing disease weren’t bad enough, I also had the pleasure of being diagnosed with DKA (Diabetic Ketoacidosis) and spent a long, boring night in the hospital.

Image

(Picture of two IV leads in my arm)

 

DKA was the reason I went to the doctor in the first place. My symptoms included: fatigue, rapid heart rate, heavy breathing, rapid weight loss (50lbs in 2 months), dehydration, frequent urination, and a lack of bowel movements. Although from what I hear, I was lucky because a lot of people find out they have diabetes by going into a diabetic coma. Thank god that did not happen to me.

The main reasons I was hospitalized was because the DKA put ketones and acid into my blood stream. Which a good regiment of carbs and insulin resolved nicely. The other reasons were to rehydrate me and pump me full of potassium (which does not feel good through the IV).

So after a long night of no sleep, finger stick blood tests every hour, blood being drawn and tested every 2-4 hours, and painful potassium intravenously, I am stable and well on my way to becoming a functioning diabetic.

I hope to use this blog to educate and become educated in the field of diabetes, specifically type 1, and share my findings and experiences to the world.

 

11 thoughts on “My Journey

  1. (in AA unison) “HI PAUL!”. Best of luck as you start out on your new life with the D. I’ve been living with it for 14 years and while it’s no walk in the park, it does get easier as you adjust. Feel free to get in touch if you have any questions!

  2. Bless your heart! My thoughts and prayers are with you as you begin your journey!

  3. Hi Paul! I look forward to reading your blog. I am also a type one diabetic, I was diagnosed in 2005, it’s been a fun..adventure? 🙂 Sending happy thoughts your way!

  4. I’m so glad I was diagnosed before I went into DKA! I was about 2 at the time so I wouldn’t have remembered anyway but it sounds awful. You seem pretty relaxed about it – keep it up! Like others have said, it’s no walk in the park but don’t let it rule your life :3 Thanks for dropping by on my blog ^^

  5. Pingback: Type One Fun | Diabetes Blog Week- Day 3

Leave a Reply

