How My Life Has Changed (So Far)


Ever since I was released from the hospital with a fresh diagnosis of Type One diabetes, I have been very overwhelmed by the fact that my lifestyle is going to have to change. My usual eating habits up till that point went something like this: carbs and sugars, with a side order of carbs. Which now I am realizing that I can no longer do if I want to live a long and healthy life. I have already started on a Low Carb diet to help manage my blood sugars, and only try to ingest around 100 grams of carbs per day.  I must say its quite challenging since most of my past food consumption consisted of deliciously unhealthy junk food.

Some of the Low Carb snacks that I have found that I like that do no affect my blood sugar much are:

  • Guacamole- I normally just eat this with a spoon depending on my blood sugar levels, or I i dip some low carb, high fiber tortillas or pita bread in it.
  • String Cheese
  • Cream Cheese- They come in different flavors like Chive and Onion, Honey, and a variety of other. And I like to spread it on some low carb, high fiber bread.
  • There are also a variety of Atkins products that are very low in carbs. They also come in sweet flavors if you are craving something sweet but do not want to raise your blood sugar.

 

8 thoughts on “How My Life Has Changed (So Far)

  1. What type of junk food do you like? If I crave sweets I buy two small cookies from the self-serve bin in Whole Foods. Now they make cookies and biscotti sweetened with fruit juice. Don’t deny yourself, learn the art of eating.

    • I like that “learn the art of eating.” Some of the junkier foods I used to enjoy were things like poptarts, captain crunch, bags of chips, and other unhealthy things. I think for the time being I need to stay away almost entirely from my old snacks until I feel able to just eat a small amount of junk with out over indulging. I need go to the dentist to get this sweet tooth pulled!!!

  2. Are you on the pump? Did you know that some companies offer grants to cover co-payments for supplies. Also, here’s a helpful link http://www.cr3diabetes.org ( grants for people with diabetes).

  3. I agree, don’t deny yourself. For me, that leads to binge eating which makes my sugar spike much higher than if I just allowed myself to have a normal sized (or Diabetic’s sized) portion of whatever it was I was craving.

    I am sure you will meet with a nutritionist (if you haven’t already) and can get on a good carb counting plan. I still eat everything I ate before I was diagnosed. It really is just a matter of learning how it affects your body and how to properly dose for what you’re eating.

    Also, for the sweet tooth, I LOVE the “minis” candies. One or two of them and it satisfies me and doesn’t make my sugars go too crazy.

    • That is very good advice and I thank you for it. I have spoken with a nutritionist briefly and she gave me some literature while I was in the hospital. I believe I have an appointment with one next week sometime.

  4. Pingback: The Carb Cloud Has Crested | Fat Then Fit Now

  5. Thanks for stopping by the blog. My daughter was Dx’d in December. Up until that point we as a family ate a Paleo/Primal diet and strangely have had to up her carb intake because of her ratios and being on MDI.

  6. Pingback: Atkins in addition to Sweets Urges. | eHow Tos

Leave a Reply

