First A1c!


For those of you who follow me on twitter you know that I recently went to the doctors to get my first a1c since my diagnosis. For those of you who don’t follow me on twitter, you should @typeonefun. When I was diagnosed with diabetes my a1c was 9.8. So you can imagine I was quite nervous/anxious leading up to this test and waiting for my results. However the results are in and my new a1c is a 5.2! I am very happy with this number but I was nervous about some of the blood cells still left over from my diagnosis affecting the outcome of this a1c. That apparently was not the case.

My doctor said that the 5.2 is too low and that I have been too aggressive with managing my diabetes. I however to do not agree with him. While I might be aggressive with management, I am happy with the results and am happy with the management routine I am doing. If I were constantly having low blood sugars or if my management was interfering with my life I would agree with the doctor. But that is not the case at all. I quite satisfied with my diet and the foods I eat. And I am happy with my exercise routine.

The exercise I do has been very helpful with managing my diabetes. Before I started working out and bike riding regularly I was using around 25 units of insulin a day including my basal rate. Now, due to the exercise, I take around 14 units of insulin daily. And some of this is due to my pump because I can now take fractions of a unit unlike using the pens where I can only take whole units.

I also believe that my low carb diet is helpful in managing my diabetes. I try to eat less then 80 grams of carb per day and usually average less than 50. Going out to eat throws this off sometimes but oh well you have to splurge once in a while. My theory is that the less carbs I intake the less chance there is for my blood sugar to get high.

Now one could argue that is easier for me to manage my diabetes because I am still in the “honeymoon” period. Which is definitely true. I am for sure still honeymooning and therefore my blood sugars are easier to manage. However another theory of mine is that if I keep tight control over my blood sugar and keep the load off my pancreas, I can prolong my honeymoon phase and preserve my remaining beta cells for a while.

But all in all I am very please with the outcome of my first a1c. I hope I can keep a good grip on my diabetes and can continue to have low a1c’s.

2 thoughts on “First A1c!

  1. 5.2% is pretty damn good. My first question is are you having a bunch of hypos? I have a 5.9%, but I’m low all the dang time.

Leave a Reply

