Pump Love


As you may or may not know, I bought an insulin pump and have been using it for less than a week now but I can already say that I love it. It has made my life so much easier. I no longer have to carry a separate case for my insulin pens and needles. The less I have to carry around the better. In fact, the only part of pumping that really worried me was being able to sleep with the pump clipped onto the waistband of my boxers and the hose getting tangled or pinned underneath me. But I have been sleeping fine with it and the hose/pump has not been bothersome at all. Which is good because lord knows I value my sleep.

The Tandem representative that came to my house was very helpful but ended up not wanting me to get hooked up to the pump. She requested some orders from my doctor for my basal rates, carb ratios and correction factors but the doc has yet to come through. So she did not want me to do anything with out the doctors consent. But me being an eager beaver decided to just hook myself up any way and use the numbers which I know to be accurate from my experiences. So I made the decision to bypass the doctor for now until I hear word and can cross reference our numbers.

But all that said, let me reiterate how much I am enjoying the pump and I definitely recommend the t:slim to people new to pumping or people who just want a new pump. Keep and eye out for a full review of the features of the T:slim in the coming days.

One thought on “Pump Love

  1. You get used to sleeping with it. I find that having at my side suffices rather than clipping it to everything. And then I have pockets for everything.

    Careful about self-adjusting your rates though. I got into a lot of trouble initially because I basically went to conservative on my rates. Was high all.the.time. Just check a bunch to verify.

Leave a Reply

