Tour de Cure Houston


Today I have officially signed up to participate in the Tour de Cure in Houston on September 21! For those who do not know what it is (or do not want to click the link to find out) it is bike race put on by the American Diabetes Association to raise funds for Diabetes research. There are several different lengths of track: 10 miles, 27 miles, 47 miles, 63 miles, and a little over 100 miles. So there is a track for just about any cyclists desire or skill level. Whether you are a casual rider or a die hard cyclist or somewhere in between, there is a place for you.

I have signed up for the 27 mile track, and I feel that will be a good starting point for my cycling career. As of right now can do about 10 miles around my town so we will see how challenging the 27 miles will be. The race isn’t until September so I will have a lot of time to train as well.  This will not only be my first diabetes fundraiser as an adult/diabetic but this will also be my first cycling event in general. My parents got me a fairly nice new bike as an early birthday present which is very generous of them to do, and I have been riding a couple miles everyday since I got it. My thighs hurt! But I love it; it is so fun to ride!

I have signed up for Team Red which is a national team open for all people with Diabetes or people whose lives have been affected by diabetes. We get a nice red jersey so spectators can spot us easily and direct their words of encouragement our way.

I am very excited to participate to help raise money for such a worthy cause and have fun doing it. I also hope very much to meet people and hear their stories and hopefully be able to tell my story.

If you would like to help sponsor me just follow this link or if you would like to donate towards Team Red as a whole please follow this link.

Every little bit helps!

One thought on “Tour de Cure Houston

Leave a Reply

