Life Syncing


Some times I wish I was an iPod or iPhone so I could just plug into a computer and upload all my thoughts and all the newsworthy information from my life. But alas it is not so. It has been a few days (maybe a week) since I have posted so I thought it was about time for me to sync my life up and upload it to the blog. This post will be straying away from the Diabeetus a little bit but since my life kinda revolves around diabetes right now, it is impossible to avoid the subject so I will be updating everyone on my ‘D’ as well….which isn’t what it sounds like….

The main reason I have not been able to post as regularly is because I am taking some courses this summer and the semester has just begun. I am taking an introductory Spanish class and it has been soaking up most of my time. And unfortunately introductory means the class is 100% in Spanish. The class itself is 3 hours long 4 times a week which is absurdly long. And on top of that I have reading to do every night, assignments over the reading, writing assignments due every week, and of course, tests I have to study for. The class itself is really fun and interesting and the professor is very entertaining, but it is just so darn time consumer. Even as I write this my brain is trying to convert some of my words/sentences into Spanish. I think I am going crazy! To top it off, I also work at a department store. So any time not spent working on my espanol, I am folding clothes at Macy’s or cleaning out fitting rooms. No me gusta! See there I go!

Now that I got all that off my chest, I will give everyone an update on my life pertaining to my diabetes. As you may or may not know from my previous posts (here and here), I am on the way to owning my first insulin pump. I received a call from the lady who is handling my case with the pump distribution company and she has given me a vague time frame on when I will actually have the pump in my hands…or hooked into my stomach, rather. She has said that in the best case scenario I could have the pump by next Tuesday. But judging by the interactions I have had with my insurance company (which the distributors are working with) I am being optimistic by thinking the pump will arrive close to 1.5-2 weeks from now. But we will wait and see.

In other news my birthday is approaching (July 11 if any one was wondering) and I have asked my parents to get or at least help me purchase a road bike. Potentially this one for anyone who cares or knows anything about bikes/cycling. My thoughts are that since I work out my upper body (chest, back, arms etc.) every other day, with the bike I will work out my legs, abs, and do some good cardio on the off days. Sounds like a decent plan to me. But more importantly, if I get said bike I am going to participate in Houston’s Tour de Cure. I have done several walks for JDRF with my parents as a youngster, but this will be my first event as an adult but more importantly as a diabetic. This will be a great opportunity to meet some new people, hear some interesting stories, get a good work out :) and most of all, help raise money for Diabetes research. The event is in September so I will have plenty of time to train and raise money for my sponsorship. I only need to raise $150 to be able to participate so its not too high of a goal to reach, but the money I can raise the better, right?  I will of course be writing more about this as the event approaches to keep you all informed on my progress.

I will definitely try to make more time to post here and on twitter.

But I think that is all for now. Bye!

4 thoughts on “Life Syncing

  1. Hey, maybe you should write mini posts in Spanish with translation beneath it. Fives lines?

  2. Best of luck with the Spanish course. My parents spoke Spanish fluently, I opted not to learn the language, which really bit me in the behind later when I had to take a language in college. Surprisingly I did alright but you do have to give all your time to it.

    Also I wish you luck on raising money for the tour de cure. I am participating in my very first walk to cure in October. I’m super excited!

  3. Belated happy birthday. I hope you had a good one.

Leave a Reply

