May DSMA Blog Carnival


Better late then never!

The prompt for the May DSMA Blog Carnival:

What do you consider to be your Diabetes Strengths?  What do you think are your Diabetes Weaknesses?

Well I will begin with my weaknesses. Obviously the first thing that comes to mind is that I have zero weaknesses and am the perfect diabetic/person/diabetic person. Ha! Hardly! I think at this stage in my life with diabetes, one of my biggest weaknesses is the lack of knowledge I have. And maybe I don’t actually have a severe lack of knowledge pertaining to diabetes, but I FEEL like I do and that makes me just as ‘weak’ as actually lacking in knowledge. I think in actuality I probably know about the same as your average diabetic but I just have this huge feeling that I am missing out on some important piece of information vital to life with diabetes. Though I am probably not.

This early on into diabetes, I am still very much overwhelmed with everything (insulin shots, finger sticks, dieting etc.) which is also a weakness of mine. I am definitely starting feel in control and probably portray control/seem fairly underwhelmed to my family and friends, but that is not the case. It getting there but not yet. And maybe the portrayal of control/acting is more of a weakness then the actual feeling of being overwhelmed. Either way both should pass in due time.

On the other hand, one of my biggest strengths would be how seriously I am taking my new life with diabetes. I have been dropped into a new world full of change and I have tried hard to be as responsible as possible to become a healthy diabetic (via taking insulin, watching what I eat, checking blood sugars, getting into the D-tech, etc.). I have heard many stories about people with diabetes (both type 1 and 2) who go into denial or do not take the disease seriously and end up either dying or becoming super unhealthy/having lots of medical problems. Those stories scare me and inspire me to be a ‘good diabetic’ and not be like them. And my hope for the future is that I can continue to take this seriously and maintain my health.

2 thoughts on “May DSMA Blog Carnival

  1. I think it’s awesome that you are taking diabetes so seriously, even if you sometimes feel overwhelmed. Don’t worry, it sounds like you are doing great, and more knowledge will come over time. :)

  2. Pingback: Type One Fun | June DSMA Blog Carnival

Leave a Reply

